ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems



ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems, the world’s leading quality management standard, has been revised.

Why was ISO 9001 revised?

All ISO standards are reviewed every five years to establish if a revision is required to keep it current and relevant for the marketplace. ISO 9001:2015 is designed to respond to the latest trends and be compatible with other management systems such as ISO 14001.

The timeline is below. Learn more about the process of standard development.

ISO 9001 revision

What are the main changes to the standard?

The new version follows a new, higher level structure to make it easier to use in conjunction with other management system standards, with increased importance given to risk. More information about the changes can be found in the news area.

I am certified to ISO 9001:2008. What does this mean for me?

Organisations are granted a three-year transition period after the revision has been published to migrate their quality management system to the new edition of the standard.


Previous versions of ISO 9001

Originally published in 1987, ISO 9001 underwent revisions in 1994, 2000 and again in 2008. The latest revision was published in September 2015.

As John E. “Jack” West, Lorri Hunt, Nigel H. Croft, and Alka Jarvis write in an article for QP magazine:

  • ISO 9001:1994 included changes to significantly improve the clause on control of design and development, and to provide several other clarifications. The 1994 series also slightly modified the role of ISO 9002 and 9003….
  • The ISO 9001:2008 revision can be thought of as an amendment to clarify issues that had been raised during the application of ISO 9001:2000. It included several changes to the text but no additional requirements.

iso 9001 timeline


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *